|Sunday School||9:00 AM|
|Sunday Worship||10:30 AM|
The Forks of the Brandywine Presbyterian Church was organized by and comprised of a majority of Scottish and Scotch-Irish settlers on September 26, 1735. It is believed that these settlers were, at one time, members of the Octorara Church. A little known fact is that the church's more popular name was, and in some cases still is, the Brandywine Manor Church. The first pastor to "The Forks" during this pioneer period was the Reverend Samuel Black. In 1761, the Reverend John Carmichael, a native of Scotland, was installed as pastor. Known as the "Revolutionary Pastor," Rev. Carmichael whole-heartedly supported the "revolution." He preached before Congress, was present at the Battle of Long Island, and urged enlistment into the army. Rev. Carmichael was a counselor of General George Washington. At one point he was forced, with his family, to flee from the church due to an impending British raid. John Carmichael lived to see the independence of his country acknowledged by the British government.
There are many other wonderful and important historical events that surrounded The Forks of the Brandywine Presbyterian Church. One was the building of the present sanctuary; the cornerstone was laid on August 7, 1875 and a service of dedication was held in December of 1876. This was the third sanctuary of record. Another singular event was the guest preaching of the notable evangelist, Dwight L. Moody in 1892.
The Forks of the Brandywine Presbyterian Church has always had a wonderful and rich history of biblical ideals and theology while always pressing into the future. Among the church’s greatest joys in recent years has been to witness and support the calling of several young men to pastoral ministry and God’s service. In addition, our resolve to biblical truth has met God’s faithfulness in the church’s recent move into the Evangelical Presbyterian Church.